Mustachio Daddio

The above image is in fact my dad. My dad has had a mustache since I can remember. Only certain people look good in a mustache and my dad is one of those guys. Like Tom Selleck, Rollie Fingers or Burt Reynolds – my dad is a mustache lifer.

He has always been pretty funny when asking him why he has a mustache. Answers range from “because it’s deer season”, to “I came out of the womb with a mustache, so I thought I’d keep it.” Fair enough pop, you once shaved it off when I was 3 or 4 years old and I wouldn’t talk to you for a week because I thought a stranger had moved into our house. Go ahead and rock the stash, it’s part of making you dad. Why, you ask, am I blogging about my dad’s mustache? Well because 20 or so years after he played a cruel trick on me and my sister did I finally realize I had been had.

One day dad walked out of the bathroom with half his mustache shaved off. My sister and I were roughly 10 and 6 years old respectively and we had probably only seen him with his face shaved once or twice before. He had a very serious look on his face and seemed to be looking for something. He had set us up hook line and sinker. Dad had a plan. We inquired about his mustache and what he was looking for. He proceeded to tell us that while he was in the bathroom he had lost half of his mustache and he had to find it before we were able to go to Chuck-E-Cheez.

Panic started to set in. My sister and I searched high and low, near and far, but that damn mustache was no where to be found. All the while dad was planted on the couch watching TV, throwing us some hints every now and then. “have you checked under the bed.” “what about in the kitchen?” We could fill the pizza and tokens slipping through our fingers. We probably went on that wild goose chase for 3 to 4 hours, or just enough time for dad to watch the basketball game and keep us quiet for the afternoon. Eventually we gave up. We cried. I can’t remember if I was more upset at the fact that we wouldn’t be going to play games or that dad was going to be without his facial hair for all of eternity.

Dad never told us that he had tricked us. But he did of course take us to Chuck-E-Cheez’s and I remember getting extra tokens that day. He assured us that he would find his mustache later and obviously the memory faded into my 6 year old history. Every parent needs some down time, you know to watch the game and relax. Now I can sit here and laugh about how freaking awesome my dad was growing up (and still is). I hope I’m as good of a dad to B as he was to me. And who knows maybe one day I’ll grow and epic mustache and “lose it” during a big game.

5 responses

Leave a Reply

